Going Vegan

It’s a popular belief that being a vegan is difficult since they eat only plant-based products. This suggests that they are deprived of eating meat, eggs, dairy products, snacks, desserts, and other delicious foods. Well, maybe this was a few decades ago, but it certainly isn’t like that now.

As you may have noticed, there are plenty of vegan substitutes for most regular products on the market. This means that vegans don’t eat only fruits and vegetables, but also enjoy other products, including snacks, such as chocolate. In fact, there are manufacturers that focus on producing vegan products. That’s why, you can easily find, non-dairy cheese, vegan meat, or vegan chocolate in Australia, Germany, England, USA, Japan, or any other country in the world.

Therefore, veganism doesn’t mean you can’t eat anything but making few adjustments to your usual diet. In order to have an easy vegan diet, you should know the vegan substitutes for the foods you eat. Here you can find alternatives for your favorite foods.

Dairy Products

The first thing that comes to our mind when we think of veganism is that you have to give up the beloved cheese, cream cheese, yogurt, and milk. In fact, you don’t have to because there are many vegan alternatives to dairies. They are known as non-dairy products. Let’ have a look at each dairy product and its vegan substitute.

Milk – Instead of using animal-derived milk, you can use nut milk, such as coconut and almond milk, as well as rice, or soy milk, among the others. In this way, you will receive all nutrients from the mentioned sources and will be able to enjoy your coffee, milkshake, and ice cream the same way you did before going vegan.

Yoghurt – Apart from milk, there are also vegan yoghurts. These yoghurts are plant-based, being produced from nuts or soy. Actually, the vegan yoghurt is usually made from almond, coconut, or soy.

Cheese and cream cheese – As milk and yoghurt are made from nuts, cheese and cream cheese are also made from that. They usually contain ingredients, such as aquafaba, nuts, coconuts, and vegetable oil. And, some of them contain calcium and B12. So, you can find soft cheese, artisan hard cheese blocks, shredded cheese for pizza, parmesan, and similar.

Meat

It can be easy to replace dairy products because products like coconut, almonds, and other nuts can produce milk, which is what all dairies are made from. But, how can you replace meat, when only animals have meat. Tricky, huh?

Well, you can’t replace meat with vegan meat because there are no plants that produce meat. However, there are many plants that have a similar taste and nutrients as those of meat. So, you have soy, tofu, tempeh, seitan, and textured vegetable protein. You also have mushrooms, which can mimic meat’s taste successfully. That’s why they are used in vegan burgers and sandwiches.

Meat

Eggs

There’s no plant that gives eggs, right? So how can you substitute this product? Well, you can’t find an exact egg, but you can get pretty close to it. Namely, you can eat a flax egg, which you can make from hot water and flax meal or chia seeds. You can also use powdered egg substitutes, vinegar, and aquafaba (instead of egg white), for baking. And, there’s also the new vegg, which is made of turmeric and mung bean.

Butter

I don’t think any of us can imagine their life without butter – that, super delicious product which makes the bread taste magical. And, you don’t have to even as a vegan. It’s because there are plenty of already-known non-dairy butters. Namely, you have peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter, and margarine, all of which are super-delicious, so you will never miss the dairy butter. The vegan butter comes in different forms, including sticks, tubs, olive oil-based, and even with flavours, such as herbs and garlic.

Chocolate

Let us tell you that vegans eat chocolate. Yes, they do. It’s because chocolate is actually plant-based. You may have not known, but it comes from the cacao tree. But, since the chocolate we usually eat is processed, it contains milk and other additives, which makes it non-vegan. However, as a vegan, you can eat raw, dark chocolate because it’s not processed, hence it doesn’t contain milk or any additive.

As you can see, there’s a vegan substitute for most of the foods you usually enjoy. So, use them to make vegan alternatives for other meals. Just replace eggs with vinegar and milk with nut milk, add olive oil, blueberries or fruit juice, and there you have a simple cake. Or blend, your favorite fruit with nut milk, and you have a mouth-filling smoothie. You can make vegan alternatives from pretty much all traditional meals.

Also Read – 

Author:

I’m  Jaylin: SEO Expert of Leelija Web Solutions. I am a content manager and the author of todayhealthplan.com and a full-time blogger. Favorite things include my camera, traveling, caring for my fitness, food and my fashion. Email id: editor@leelija.com

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here